World busking map

Where can you busk, and do you need a permit first? Rules for 131 cities in 35 countries, checked against official council, police and transit pages in October 2026.

Buenos AiresAdelaideBrisbaneByron BayCairnsCanberraDarwinFremantleGeelongGold CoastHobartLauncestonMelbourneNewcastlePerthSydneySalzburgViennaBrugesBrusselsGhentSao PauloSofiaCalgaryKingstonMontrealOttawaQuebec CityTorontoVancouverVictoriaWinnipegBrnoPragueCopenhagenHelsinkiNiceBerlinCologneFrankfurtHamburgMunichThessalonikiHong KongReykjavikCorkDublinGalwayTel AvivBolognaFlorenceNaplesVeniceKyotoTokyoKuala LumpurAmsterdamRotterdamThe HagueUtrechtAucklandChristchurchDunedinHamiltonNelsonQueenstownTaurangaWellingtonOsloPortoSingaporeLjubljanaCape TownSeoulBarcelonaMadridGothenburgMalmoStockholmBernGenevaZurichTaipeiBangkokAberdeenBathBelfastBirminghamBrightonBristolCambridgeCamdenCanterburyCardiffChesterEdinburghGlasgowLeedsLiverpoolLondonManchesterNewcastle upon TyneNottinghamOxfordYorkAshevilleAustinBostonBoulder (Pearl Street)Burlington (Church Street)CharlestonChicagoDenverHoustonKey WestLas VegasLos AngelesMadisonMiami / Miami BeachNashvilleNew OrleansNew York CityPhiladelphiaPortlandSalt Lake CitySan DiegoSan FranciscoSanta MonicaSavannahSeattleSt. Augustine
Map outline: Natural Earth

Rules change. Always check the official page before you play. This map is general information, not legal advice.

Busking rules for every city on the map

The same list as text, grouped by country.

Argentina

CityPermitCostMore
Buenos AiresPermit neededFree.Official page ↗

Australia

CityPermitCostMore
AdelaidePermit neededfree (fee currently waived by Council)Full city guide →
BrisbanePermit in some areasfreeFull city guide →
Byron BayPermit neededAUD $32 one-off application plus $32 for a yearly permit or $10 for a one-month permit; free for under 18sOfficial page ↗
CairnsPermit neededFree to apply according to the Australian business licence listing (confirm with council)Official page ↗
CanberraNo permit neededFreeOfficial page ↗
DarwinPermit neededAUD $5 (1 week), $20 (4 months), $30 (1 year)Official page ↗
FremantlePermit in some areasOfficial page ↗
GeelongPermit neededAUD $10 application fee (per a government listing)Official page ↗
Gold CoastPermit neededA$63 (2026-27, per the government business licence listing; the council page refers to its Register of Fees and Charges)Full city guide →
HobartPermit neededFull city guide →
LauncestonPermit neededPermit fee not confirmed; public liability insurance can be bought from the council for AUD $20 per yearOfficial page ↗
MelbournePermit neededA$42.30 for 12 months (general area, pavement art, circle act); premium A$105.60 for 12 months or A$58.10 for a 3-month interstate/international permit; A$112 extra to sell CDs, DVDs or artworksFull city guide →
NewcastlePermit in some areasOfficial page ↗
PerthPermit neededfreeFull city guide →
SydneyPermit neededA$15 for 3 months or A$52 for 1 yearFull city guide →

Austria

CityPermitCostMore
SalzburgPermit in some areasOfficial page ↗
ViennaPermit in some areasEUR 6.54 per month for a permitOfficial page ↗

Belgium

CityPermitCostMore
BrugesPermit neededOfficial page ↗
BrusselsPermit neededOfficial page ↗
GhentNo permit neededNo permit feeOfficial page ↗

Brazil

CityPermitCostMore
Sao PauloNo permit neededNo permit feeOfficial page ↗

Bulgaria

CityPermitCostMore
SofiaPermit neededOfficial page ↗

Canada

CityPermitCostMore
CalgaryPermit neededStandard Busker ID free; Calgary Transit Busker ID CA$25 plus a Police Information CheckFull city guide →
KingstonPermit neededCAD $42 for one year per the Downtown Kingston business group (not confirmed on a City page)Official page ↗
MontrealPermit in some areasCA$183 per calendar year plus a CA$68 processing fee on a first applicationFull city guide →
OttawaPermit in some areasCA$50 for a new permit, CA$25 to renew (annual, plus applicable taxes)Full city guide →
Quebec CityPermit neededOfficial page ↗
TorontoPermit neededCA$55.91 per year for the city permit; TTC licence CA$197.75 for the three-year termFull city guide →
VancouverPermit in some areasCA$53.59 + GST for 4 months or CA$159.03 + GST for 1 year (2026 fees)Full city guide →
VictoriaPermit neededCAD $25 per year on the city's busking page and form (a 2026 bylaw text lists $50, so confirm before applying)Official page ↗
WinnipegPermit in some areasFree for the city; The Forks licence fee not confirmedOfficial page ↗

Czech Republic

CityPermitCostMore
BrnoNo permit neededNo permit feeOfficial page ↗
PraguePermit in some areasOfficial page ↗

Denmark

CityPermitCostMore
CopenhagenNo permit neededFreeOfficial page ↗

Finland

CityPermitCostMore
HelsinkiNo permit neededFreeOfficial page ↗

France

CityPermitCostMore
NicePermit in some areasOfficial page ↗

Germany

CityPermitCostMore
BerlinPermit in some areasFull city guide →
ColognePermit in some areasOfficial page ↗
FrankfurtPermit in some areasOfficial page ↗
HamburgPermit in some areasOfficial page ↗
MunichPermit neededEUR 10 administrative fee per permitOfficial page ↗

Greece

CityPermitCostMore
ThessalonikiNo permit neededFine reportedly 300 EUR on the day (musicians' account)Official page ↗

Hong Kong SAR, China

CityPermitCostMore
Hong KongPermit in some areasOfficial page ↗

Iceland

CityPermitCostMore
ReykjavikPermit in some areasOfficial page ↗

Ireland

CityPermitCostMore
CorkPermit needed€30 per year (waived for under-25s) or €10 for a 3-month short-term permit; amplification is an extra €30 per year or €10 short-termFull city guide →
DublinPermit needed€30 per year, or €10 for a 2-week visitor permit; amplification permit is an extra €60 per year or €20 for a visitorFull city guide →
GalwayNo permit neededNo permit feeOfficial page ↗

Israel

CityPermitCostMore
Tel AvivNo permit neededNo permit feeOfficial page ↗

Italy

CityPermitCostMore
BolognaPermit in some areasOfficial page ↗
FlorencePermit neededOfficial page ↗
NaplesPermit in some areasFines reported at 250 EUR, 500 EUR if unpaidOfficial page ↗
VeniceRestrictedOfficial page ↗

Japan

CityPermitCostMore
KyotoPermit in some areasSubway programme: registration fee 2,000 yen, performances unpaid. Police road use permit application fee is 2,400 yen.Official page ↗
TokyoRestrictedPolice road use review fee is 2,100 yen for general activities; Heaven Artist licence has no fee found.Official page ↗

Malaysia

CityPermitCostMore
Kuala LumpurPermit neededOfficial page ↗

Netherlands

CityPermitCostMore
AmsterdamPermit in some areasFull city guide →
RotterdamPermit in some areasOfficial page ↗
The HagueNo permit neededFreeOfficial page ↗
UtrechtPermit neededOfficial page ↗

New Zealand

CityPermitCostMore
AucklandPermit neededfreeFull city guide →
ChristchurchPermit in some areasNZD $52 including GST (when a permit is needed)Official page ↗
DunedinPermit neededFreeOfficial page ↗
HamiltonPermit neededOfficial page ↗
NelsonNo permit neededFreeOfficial page ↗
QueenstownPermit neededFreeOfficial page ↗
TaurangaPermit neededFee applies, amount not stated on the pageOfficial page ↗
WellingtonPermit neededfreeFull city guide →

Norway

CityPermitCostMore
OsloPermit in some areasOfficial page ↗

Portugal

CityPermitCostMore
PortoPermit neededFees apply in the central zone (B); amount not confirmedOfficial page ↗

Singapore

CityPermitCostMore
SingaporePermit neededNo audition registration fee.Official page ↗

Slovenia

CityPermitCostMore
LjubljanaPermit in some areasFine reportedly 150 EUR for individualsOfficial page ↗

South Africa

CityPermitCostMore
Cape TownNo permit neededFree.Official page ↗

South Korea

CityPermitCostMore
SeoulPermit in some areasFree at Han River busking zones.Official page ↗

Spain

CityPermitCostMore
BarcelonaPermit neededFull city guide →
MadridPermit neededOfficial page ↗

Sweden

CityPermitCostMore
GothenburgNo permit neededNo permit feeOfficial page ↗
MalmoNo permit neededFreeOfficial page ↗
StockholmNo permit neededNo permit feeOfficial page ↗

Switzerland

CityPermitCostMore
BernPermit in some areasOfficial page ↗
GenevaPermit neededCard free (valid 5 years); daily authorisation CHF 10Official page ↗
ZurichPermit in some areasOfficial page ↗

Taiwan

CityPermitCostMore
TaipeiPermit neededReported 200 TWD fee for a 2-year registration.Official page ↗

Thailand

CityPermitCostMore
BangkokPermit in some areasOfficial page ↗

United Kingdom

CityPermitCostMore
AberdeenPermit in some areasOfficial page ↗
BathNo permit neededfreeFull city guide →
BelfastNo permit neededFreeOfficial page ↗
BirminghamPermit in some areasfreeFull city guide →
BrightonNo permit neededFreeOfficial page ↗
BristolNo permit neededFreeOfficial page ↗
CambridgeNo permit neededFreeOfficial page ↗
CamdenPermit in some areasOfficial page ↗
CanterburyNo permit neededFreeOfficial page ↗
CardiffNo permit neededFreeOfficial page ↗
ChesterNo permit neededFreeOfficial page ↗
EdinburghNo permit neededfreeFull city guide →
GlasgowNo permit neededfreeFull city guide →
LeedsNo permit neededFree (PRS music licence is separate)Official page ↗
LiverpoolNo permit neededfreeFull city guide →
LondonPermit in some areasWestminster: £20 for 6 months or £10 for 1 month (students half price). Camden: £150 for 24 months.Full city guide →
ManchesterNo permit neededfreeFull city guide →
Newcastle upon TyneNo permit neededFreeOfficial page ↗
NottinghamPermit in some areasFree (no licence found)Official page ↗
OxfordNo permit neededFreeOfficial page ↗
YorkNo permit neededFree (street trading consent needed to sell CDs or goods)Official page ↗

United States

CityPermitCostMore
AshevillePermit in some areasOfficial page ↗
AustinNo permit neededFree on streets; parks permit $10 per day, sold in two-week blocksFull city guide →
BostonNo permit neededFree on city streets; MBTA permit $25 (money order only)Full city guide →
Boulder (Pearl Street)No permit neededNo permit feeOfficial page ↗
Burlington (Church Street)Permit in some areasOlder figures US$25 per venue day to about US$75 per year; confirm current feeOfficial page ↗
CharlestonNo permit neededNo permit feeOfficial page ↗
ChicagoPermit needed$100 for two years; $50 for people aged 65 or over, veterans and people with a certified disabilityFull city guide →
DenverPermit in some areasfreeFull city guide →
HoustonNo permit neededNo permit feeOfficial page ↗
Key WestPermit neededOfficial page ↗
Las VegasPermit in some areasFull city guide →
Los AngelesPermit in some areasOfficial page ↗
MadisonPermit in some areasOfficial page ↗
Miami / Miami BeachPermit in some areasUS$397 per year (increases yearly with CPI)Official page ↗
NashvilleNo permit neededNo permit fee for non-vending performersOfficial page ↗
New OrleansNo permit neededNo permit feeOfficial page ↗
New York CityPermit in some areasSound device permit: $45 per application (certified check or money order). Parks special event permit: $25.Full city guide →
PhiladelphiaPermit in some areasOfficial page ↗
PortlandNo permit neededfreeFull city guide →
Salt Lake CityPermit neededFee not stated on the pageOfficial page ↗
San DiegoPermit in some areasOfficial page ↗
San FranciscoPermit in some areasFisherman's Wharf: $50 per month or $500 per year. BART permit: free.Full city guide →
Santa MonicaPermit needed$37 per calendar year (permit expires 31 December, no pro-rating)Full city guide →
SavannahPermit neededOfficial page ↗
SeattlePermit in some areasPike Place Market: $35 per year, or $10 for a one-day traveling permit. Elsewhere: none found.Full city guide →
St. AugustineRestrictedUS$25 administrative fee per month (lottery winners)Official page ↗

How to read the map

Green cities have no general busking permit: you can play acoustic music in public places as long as you keep the footpath clear, keep the volume reasonable and move on when asked. A green dot does not mean anything goes. Markets, malls, parks and stations often have their own rules.

Orange cities ask every busker to hold a permit or licence before playing. Some issue it on the spot, some by appointment, and a few audition performers first.

Blue cities are free in most places but need a permit in certain areas, such as a busy mall, a waterfront or the subway, or when you use an amplifier.

Red cities ban busking, or limit it so tightly in the centre that most performers cannot play there.

Common questions

Where is busking allowed without a permit?

In many cities you can play acoustic music in public places without a permit, as long as you keep the footpath clear, keep the volume reasonable and move on when asked. Those are the green dots on the map. Amplifiers, malls, markets and transit stations often have their own rules, so open the city card before you play.

Do you need a permit to busk?

It depends on the city. Some require a permit for everyone, some only in certain areas or when you use an amplifier, and some have no busking permit at all. Tap a city on the map for its rule and a link to the official page.

How much does a busking permit cost?

It ranges from free to a few hundred dollars a year, and some cities charge by the day or the month. Each city card shows the fee the city publishes.

How up to date is this map?

Each city was checked against its official pages in October 2026. Rules and fees change, so confirm with the city before you play. Cities whose rules could not be confirmed are left off the map.

Can I take card tips while busking?

Yes. A QR code on a sign beside your case lets people tip by card, Apple Pay or Google Pay from their own phone, with no app to install. A few cities limit collecting money, and the city card says so where that applies.

Busking tonight? Take card tips too.

Put a TipIns QR code on your case. People tip with Apple Pay, Google Pay or a card, and your weekly payout is free.

Get the free app

Busking guides

More free tools

Get the TipIns appFree for iPhone and Android