TipIns vs TipBrightly for tips

A cafe team behind the counter holding a phone with their shared QR code

Short answer: TipBrightly is set up by a business for its staff, with QR codes per person, team or department, which suits hotels and venues running a programme. Its FAQ does not say how team tips are divided, payout timing or where it works. TipIns publishes its fees, payout schedule and 41 countries, and anyone can start alone without their employer.

Side by side

TipInsTipBrightly
What it isA tipping app for workers and performers: a personal QR code and tip page, with tips paid to your bank.TipBrightly is a US cashless tipping platform for tipped-service businesses that issues QR codes for individuals, teams, groups or departments.
Cost of taking a tipNo monthly fee. A 10% platform fee plus card processing (2.9% + $0.30 in the US) per tip, added on top for the person tipping by default, so you receive the full tip.Guests are asked to cover the fees and can choose to take them out of the tip instead. Stripe charges 2.9% + $0.30 per tip, plus a TipBrightly fee; the FAQ gives it as "between 3%" without a second figure.
What the person tipping needsNo app or account. They scan with the phone camera and pay by card, Apple Pay or Google Pay in the browser.No app needed: anyone with a phone scans the QR code or opens the unique URL to send an anonymous tip. Payments run through Stripe, which the FAQ says supports Apple Pay and Google Pay.
QR codeYes: a personal QR code and link, plus printable signs.Yes, QR codes with a unique URL per person, team, group, event, department or location.
Where it works41 countries, including the US, UK, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Japan and most of Europe.Not stated in the FAQ; the company presents itself as US and uses Stripe.
Getting the money to your bankWeekly payout every Friday, free; it usually arrives 24 to 48 hours later. Instant payout: 2% plus a small fixed fee, from 14 days after joining.The worker needs a Stripe account to be paid. Payout timing and instant payout fees are not stated in the FAQ.
Sharing tips with a teamYes. A group has one QR code and splits each tip equally or by set percentages, with optional active shifts.QR codes can be assigned to a team, group or department; the FAQ does not describe how team tips are divided.
Rules that matter for tipsBuilt for tips. Stripe checks your identity before you can receive tips.A business sets up the program and displays the QR codes. No other published terms found in the FAQ.

TipBrightly figures are from TipBrightly's own pages, checked on 20 October 2026; they are US figures unless the row says otherwise. Fees change, so check before you decide.

When TipBrightly is the better choice

TipBrightly is set up by a business for its staff, with QR codes per person, team or department, which suits hotels and venues running a programme.

When TipIns fits better

Its FAQ does not say how team tips are divided, payout timing or where it works. TipIns publishes its fees, payout schedule and 41 countries, and anyone can start alone without their employer.

Using both

Nothing stops you showing two codes. Many workers keep a payment app for regulars and a TipIns code for everyone else. The QR tip jar maker turns any payment link into a printable code.

Sources

Common questions

Is TipIns cheaper than TipBrightly?

It depends on how you take tips. No monthly fee. A 10% platform fee plus card processing (2.9% + $0.30 in the US) per tip, added on top for the person tipping by default, so you receive the full tip.

Does the customer need TipBrightly to tip me?

No app needed: anyone with a phone scans the QR code or opens the unique URL to send an anonymous tip. Payments run through Stripe, which the FAQ says supports Apple Pay and Google Pay.

Does the customer need an app to tip with TipIns?

No app or account. They scan with the phone camera and pay by card, Apple Pay or Google Pay in the browser.

Related guides

Get the TipIns appFree for iPhone and Android